Westfield FFA Cup Draw reveals route for Round of 32


The Wellington Phoenix will take on Adelaide United in the round of 32 in this year’s inaugural Westfield FFA Cup.

The Wellington Phoenix will take on Adelaide United in the round of 32 in this year’s FFA Cup.

Reigning Hyundai A-League 2014 champions Brisbane Roar will head west to take on Western Australian NPL club Stirling Lions in the first round of the Westfield FFA Cup following the draw which was held earlier today at the Fox Sports studios in Sydney.

Former Socceroos Paul Okon and Mile Sterjovski conducted the inaugural Round of 32 draw which saw last season-s other three Hyundai League semi-finalists – Western Sydney Wanderers, Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Victory matched against Member Federation clubs Adelaide City, South Coast Wolves and Bayswater City respectively.

The three Hyundai A-League club match ups are headlined by Melbourne City hosting Sydney FC and new Sky Blues Coach Graham Arnold, while Perth Glory will head to Newcastle to face the Jets, and Wellington Phoenix will tackle Adelaide United.

Of the Member Federation pairings, all bar one sees clubs from different States or Territories meet, with the only local State derby to be between NSW NPL clubs Manly United and Sydney Olympic.

The 32 teams in the inaugural edition of the Westfield FFA Cup comprise the ten Hyundai A-League clubs plus 22 Member Federation clubs across seven States and Territories throughout the country.

Of the Member Federation clubs, nine – Adelaide City, Blacktown City, Brisbane Strikers, Hakoah Sydney City, Parramatta FC, South Coast Wolves, Sydney Olympic, Sydney United and Melbourne Knights – have links back to the National Soccer League (NSL).

Whilst the Westfield FFA Cup 2014 Draw has now revealed who will meet who in the Round of 32, the specific match details in regards to the dates, venues and kick-off times will be announced on Monday 30 June 2014 after consideration of each participating club-s league fixtures as well as venue availability and suitability.

The 16 matches in the Round of 32 of the Westfield FFA Cup 2014 will be split over four weeks (29/30 July, 5/6 August, 12/13 August & 19/20 August), with four games scheduled per week either on Tuesday or Wednesday nights. Fox Sports will broadcast at least ten matches in the competition from the Round of 32 onwards, including all four Quarter Finals, both Semi Finals and the Westfield FFA Cup Final 2014.

The opening match day of the Round of 32 is scheduled for Tuesday 29 July 2014 and all matches will be played in Australia.

Westfield FFA Cup 2014 – Round of 32 Fixtures

Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory
Melbourne City v Sydney FC
Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United
Broadmeadow Magic (NNSW) v Brisbane Strikers (Qld)
Sydney United 58 FC (NSW) v FNQ Heat (Qld)
Parramatta FC (NSW) v St Albans Saints (Vic)
Olympic FC (Qld) v Melbourne Knights (Vic)
Manly United (NSW) v Sydney Olympic (NSW)
South Hobart (Tas) v Tuggeranong United (ACT)
Hakoah Sydney City (NSW) v Palm Beach Sharks (Qld)
South Springvale (Vic) v South Cardiff (NNSW)
Blacktown City (NSW) v Bentleigh Greens (Vic)
South Coast Wolves (NSW) v Central Coast Mariners
Bayswater City (WA) v Melbourne Victory
Adelaide City (SA) v Western Sydney Wanderers
Stirling Lions (WA) v Brisbane Roar

Note: Dates, venues and kick-off times will be announced on Monday 30 June 2014

Pot A (4 Hyundai A-League Semi Finalists)
1 Brisbane Roar
2 Central Coast Mariners
3 Melbourne Victory
4 Western Sydney Wanderers

Pot B (Other 6 Hyundai A-League clubs)
5 Adelaide United
6 Melbourne City
7 Newcastle Jets
8 Perth Glory
9 Sydney FC
10 Wellington Phoenix

Pot C (22 Member Federation clubs)
11 Tuggeranong United (ACT)
12 Blacktown City (NSW)
13 Hakoah Sydney City (NSW)
14 Manly United (NSW)
15 Parramatta FC (NSW)
16 South Coast Wolves (NSW)
17 Sydney Olympic (NSW)
18 Sydney United 58 FC (NSW)
19 Broadmeadow Magic (Northern NSW)
20 South Cardiff (Northern NSW)
21 Brisbane Strikers (Qld)
22 FNQ FC Heat (Qld)
23 Olympic FC (Qld)
24 Palm Beach Sharks (Qld)
25 Adelaide City (SA)
26 South Hobart (Tas)
27 Bentleigh Greens (Vic)
28 Melbourne Knights (Vic)
29 South Springvale (Vic)
30 St Albans Saints (Vic)
31 Bayswater City (WA)
32 Stirling Lions (WA)

For further information about the Westfield FFA Cup, click here.