Wellington Phoenix unfortunate against resurgent Adelaide Side


Wellington Phoenix were in good spirits ahead of the Round 5 fixture against Adelaide United and it showed as they started on the front foot.

Ryan Lowry, starting his first game of the Hyundai A-League season, attempted to release David Williams down the right only for Adelaide to clear the danger.

The away side struggled to cope with the attacking style of Mark Rudan’s team and it didn’t take long for Wellington Phoenix to get the breakthrough.

Alex Rufer glided in a cross which was headed back into danger by Tom Doyle. Adelaide goalkeeper Paul Izzo punched clear, landing at the feet of midfielder Mandi Sosa who hit his effort into the ground and looped into the back of the net.

Moments later, Mandi again came close with a free kick being spilled by Izzo but no Wellington Phoenix player was present to tap it in and Adelaide cleared their lines.

Williams again hit Adelaide on the counter but his attempted through ball to Nathan Burns was cut out by midfielder, Isaias Sanchez.

Adelaide grew into the game as the break approached and they managed to grab a late equaliser off the head of defender Doyle, who couldn’t direct the attacking cross away from goal.

Moments after the break and Adelaide shocked the home side with another goal, a header from Ken IIso Larsen to take the lead.

It wasn’t long until Ilso was involved in the action again as he put Doyle under pressure to force another own goal after a dangerous delivery into the Phoenix box.

Despite taking a two-goal lead, Roy Krishna and Burns looked to combine on the edge of the box but Burns’ low shot was saved by Izzo.

Rudan looked to bring on attack minded Mitch Nichols and Max Burgess but Adelaide kept their lead intact and left with all three points.


Starting XI

1.Filip KURTO, 4. Mandi SOSA, 5. Ryan LOWRY, 9. Nathan BURNS, 11. David WILLIAMS, 14. Alex RUFER, 15. Michal KOPCZYNSKI, 19. Tom DOYLE, 21. Roy KRISHNA,  22. Andrew DURANTE, 27. Steven TAYLOR

Wellington Phoenix Substitutions

65’ OFF 15. Michal Kopczynski      ON 23. Max Burgess

72’ OFF 21. Roy Krishna                     ON 8. Mitch Nicholls

Adelaide United  Substitutions

72’ OFF 10. Ken Ilso                            ON 33. Apostolos Stamatelopoulos

76’ OFF 7. Ryan Kitto                           ON 17. Nikola Mileusnic

90’ OFF 26. Ben Halloran                 ON 16. Nathan Konstandopoulos

Next Match Details 

Wellington Phoenix vs. Perth Glory, Sunday 2nd December, Westpac Stadium, 7:00pm (NZT)