Wellington Phoenix Squad: Round 11 v Perth Glory


It’s the second iteration of the ‘Distance Derby’ for 2017/18 with Phoenix enjoying bragging rights so far from Round 6’s 5-2 win in Wellington. With both sides facing significant injuries it might turn into more of an endurance derby, with the hosts particularly afflicted from their busy travelling schedule this season.

No Andy Keogh, Adam Taggart, Andreu or Scott Neville for the hosts, but star playmaker Diego Castro will be fit to play a leading role in what Fox Sports is dubbing ‘Spanish Round’.

For Phoenix, club captain Andrew Durante has returned home to Wellington with the calf strain that kept him out of last week’s 0-0 draw with Brisbane Roar, while the league’s leading assist provider Roy Krishna remains sidelined with a knee-knock and All White Michael McGlinchey remains out from the groin strain, both picked up during the clash against Melbourne Victory.

Lewis Italiano returns to the state where he was born, and is expected to continue his fine form between the sticks, while Ryan Lowry comes into the squad to replace Durante and could see a rare on-the-pitch clash against his brother Shane, who takes the armband for Glory in Keogh’s absence.


Wellington Phoenix squad:

1.Lewis ITALIANO (gk), 2.Daniel MULLEN, 3.Scott GALLOWAY, 4.Goran PARACKI, 5.Ryan LOWRY, 8.Dario VIDOSIC, 9.Andrija KALUDJEROVIC, 11.Hamish WATSON, 12.Adam PARKHOUSE, 13.Marco ROSSI, 14.Alex RUFER, 17.Ali ABBAS, 18.Sarpreet SINGH, 19.Tom DOYLE, 23.Matthew RIDENTON, 24.Logan ROGERSON, 30.Keegan SMITH (gk) 

**one to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Ryan LOWRY (promoted), 

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 6.Dylan FOX (hamstring), 10.Michael McGLINCHEY (groin), 21.Roy KRISHNA (knee), Andrew DURANTE (calf)

Perth Glory squad:

2.Alex GRANT, 4.Shane LOWRY (c), 5.Jacob POSCOLIERO, 6.Mitch NICHOLS, 8.Xavi TORRES, 11. Mitch MALLIA, 13 Nick FEELY (gk), 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Joseph MILLS, 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Joe KNOWLES, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 24.Callum TIMMINS, 26.Jacob ITALIANO, 29.Jeremy WALKER, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 34.Yagoub MUSTAFA

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 24.Callum TIMMINS (promoted), 34.Yagoub MUSTAFA (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 3.Marc WARREN (ankle – 4 weeks), 7.Joel CHIANESE (collar bone – 1 week), 9.Andy KEOGH (groin – 1 week), 22.Adam TAGGART (hamstring – 1 week), 18. Andreu GUERAO (calf – 1-2 weeks), 23.Scott NEVILLE (toe – 2 weeks), 25.Daniel STYNES (hamstring – 2-3 weeks)


Match details:

Round 11 Hyundai A-League, Perth Glory v Wellington Phoenix, NIB Stadium, kick-off 7pm local.

Coverage on Sky Sport 4 from 12.00am (NZT) – or tape it for the morning and stay off social media!