Wellington Phoenix Dominate Sydney Away From Home


Wellington Phoenix produced their performance of the season as they took it to Sydney FC at Jubilee Stadium for the Round 7 tie.

Mark Rudan’s men were confident heading into the fixture off the back of a convincing display last weekend against Perth Glory and it wasn’t long before Roy Krishna made headlines yet again.

Sarpreet Singh drove at the home backline and placed a sumptuous through ball for Krishna to run on to. Evading the defenders, Krishna placed the ball beyond the onrushing Andrew Redmayne and into the back of the net.

Minutes later and Mandi Sosa played another beautifully weighted pass for Krishna, who placed it under Redmayne to double the lead.

It wasn’t long until Wellington Phoenix struck again as Liberato Cacace produced a stunning cross for Steven Taylor to head in his first Wellington Phoenix goal. This ended Sydney’s hopes of a potential fight back in the first half.  

Sydney FC brought on Siem De Jong in the hope of salvaging something from the game but the defensive backline of Wellington Phoenix stayed strong amid pressure from the home side.

Andrew Durante and Taylor dealt with the long balls from Sydney FC as they looked to get in behind but to no avail.

Oli Sail was making his first start this season and he rarely looked in danger of conceding until the 89th minute when Michael Zullo scrambled in his volley to grab a consolation goal. It wasn’t enough as Wellington Phoenix kept their lead until the final whistle to take all three points back across the ditch.

Full-Time Score: Sydney FC 1 – 3 Wellington Phoenix

Highlights here.

Starting XI

4. Mandi SOSA, 9. Nathan BURNS, 13. Liberate CACACE, 14. Alex RUFER, 15. Michal KOPCZYNSKI 16. Louis Fenton, 18. Sarpreet SINGH, 20. Oliver SAIL, 21. Roy KRISHNA, 22. Andrew DURANTE, 27. Steven TAYLOR

Wellington Phoenix Substitutions

59’ OFF 21. Roy KRISHNA ON 11. David WILLIAMS

68’ OFF 13. Liberato CACACE ON 19. Tom DOYLE

80’ OFF 14. Alex RUFER ON. 6. Dylan FOX

Sydney FC Substitutions

45’ OFF 8. Paulo RETRE ON. 22. Siem DE JONG

65’ OFF 13. Brandon O’NEILL ON 11. Daniel DE SILVA



Next Match Details

Wellington Phoenix Vs. Central Coast Mariners , Saturday 15th December 2018, 7:35pm, Westpac Stadium