Wellington Phoenix Confirms Departure of Seven Players


The Wellington Phoenix can confirm the departure of seven players from its squad at the conclusion of the 2020/21 A-League season.

Cameron Devlin appeared in 44 matches – including 33 starts – for the Phoenix across two A-League seasons. A crowd favourite, Devlin led the competition in Tackles Won during each of his two seasons, while also scoring his first Phoenix goal earlier this year.

Defenders Luke DeVere and Liam McGing also exit the Club after signing on in the 2019/20 Season; DeVere limited to six matches this season due to injury and McGing appearing in seven games.

2019/20 signee Te Atawhai Hudson-Wihongi also leaves the Phoenix by mutual consent, after being limited to four games this season.

Mirza Muratovic departs the Club after joining the Phoenix this season, appearing in eight matches and scoring two goals. Charles Lokoli-Ngoy and Matthew Ridenton, who also both joined the Phoenix squad this season – Ridenton in his second stint with the Club – appeared in nine and eight matches respectively.

The Club thanks these players for their roles with the team this season and wishes them all the best for their future.



  • Cameron Devlin (unsuccessful with negotiations)
  • Luke DeVere (not re-signed)
  • Te Atawhai Hudson-Wihongi (released from contract)
  • Charles Lokoli-Ngoy (not re-signed)
  • Liam McGing (not re-signed)
  • Mirza Muratovic (not re-signed)
  • Matthew Ridenton (not re-signed)