Wellington Phoenix Academy with nine strong contingent get the call up to NZ U-17’s camp


The Wellington Phoenix Academy have reason to be proud as nine of their players were called into camp for the New Zealand U-17 National Team last week.

The players were in Wellington from Sunday 15 April to Wednesday 18 April and it was their first meeting under the newly appointed Head Coach, José Figueira and Assistant Coach, Paul Temple. 

“The ultimate goal [at the Academy] is to produce as many players for the [Phoenix] first team and for New Zealand national teams as possible” said Paul Temple.

“We’re the only place in the entire country that can have the pathways of professional football, literally in the same club, on their doorstep.”

“When the Academy boys train here at Martin Luckie and they see the first team players roll out after or they see the likes of Sarpreet [Singh] and Keegan [Smith] come back down to training and say hi, it’s a visible pathway.”

For Wellington Phoenix Academy Director, Paul Temple, these call ups are a testament to the work going on within the Academy and another confirmation that the pathways the Academy creates is beneficial for young New Zealand talent.

The full list of players called into camp is below:

Luca Taylor – Birkenhead United

Alex Paulsen – Wellington Phoenix, previously Onehunga

Thomas Poole – Caversham

Max Drake – North Shore United

Matthew Braddock – Wellington Phoenix

Harry Bark – North Shore United

Robbie Sabo – Ole Academy

Adam Hills – Wellington Phoenix

Kris Naicker – Wellington Phoenix, previously Waitakere City

David Wilson – Manurewa

Ivan Cibilich – Western Springs

Milo Brown – North Shore United

Marco Stamenic – Ole Academy

Hayden Aish – Western Springs

Jackson Manuel – Wellington Phoenix

Campbell Strong – Eastern Suburbs

Sean Bright – Ole Academy

Jayden Rodwell – Ole Academy

Ben Old – Wellington Phoenix, previously North Shore United

Ryan Verney – Onehunga Sports

Nathan Lobo – Birkenhead United

Matthew Garbett – Ole Academy

Oliver Fay – Onehunga Sports

Henry Hamilton – Wellington Phoenix

Joseph Lee – Wellington Phoenix, previously North Shore United

Oskar van Hattum – Wellington Phoenix

Keegan Maclou – Onehunga Sports

Bradley Wilson – Western Springs