Nathan Burns Wins Huawei Player Of The Year


In a glittering ceremony held at Te Papa’s Visa Gallery, the Wellington Phoenix’ top goal scorer Nathan Burns was named the Club’s Huawei Player of the Year.

The Award that is voted on by the Club’s senior coaching team, recognises players’ performance throughout the year and is voted upon at the end of every game.

Burns also won Player’s Player of the Year and the adidas Golden Boot for his 13 goals this season.

Roly Bonevacia won the Revera Under 23 Player of the Year.

Perth-based Niki O’Connor won the Carlsberg Fan of the Year for her work in setting up both the Brisbane and Perth Away Supporters’ Clubs.

Roy Krishna won the Ricoh Goal of the Year for his Round 9 strike against Newcastle Jets at Hunter Stadium.

Ben Sigmund, Vince Lia and Manny Muscat were recognised for joining the 150 games Club.

Wellington Phoenix Strength and Conditioning Coach Lee Spence and Head of Medical Rob Lee were recognised for their outstanding behind the scenes contribution to the Club and were awarded the prestigious Lloyd Morrison Spirit of the Phoenix Award in the name of the owner who started the Welnix ownership group.



Revera Under 23 Player of the Year: Roly Bonevacia

adidas Golden Boot: Nathan Burns

Carlsberg Fan of the Year: Niki O’Connor

Ricoh Goal of the Year: Roy Krishna

Players’ Player of the Year: Nathan Burns

Huawei Player of the Year: Nathan Burns