More Young Phoenix Players Re-Signed


Wellington Phoenix head coach Ernie Merrick has continued his planning for the future by re-signing six more players for next season and beyond.

Merrick said it was vital if the club was to move forward that players the club had invested in over the past two seasons should continue playing for the Phoenix.

“The re-signings we are announcing today are the younger players who have been training with us and being coached by our staff over the past two seasons,” Merrick said.

“They were brought in with a long-term commitment and we need to retain them and keep moving them forward as players.

“Some of them have had game time this season for various reasons and have acquitted themselves well.

“Dylan Fox, who we now have for the next three seasons, has been excellent standing in for Ben Sigmund and is improving all the time.

“Matt Ridenton has played in a few different positions in the A-League side and never let the team down.

“Alex Rodriguez is coming on leaps and bounds since recovering from a pre-season injury thanks to having regular game time in what is a very important position in the team.

“Tom Doyle has also made the most of his opportunity and is making the left back spot his own.

“Blake Powell has made a statement by scoring eight goals in this A-League campaign and has had his contract extended till the end of next season.

“Lewis Italiano has also had his contract extended by another season.

“It is never easy to be a No 2 goalkeeper when the incumbent is playing well and keeping fit, but Lewis has been patient and continued to train well and play for our reserve side when possible.

“We need to keep building and experienced players are also needed to keep helping these youngsters improve.

“I intend to sign two or three high quality players to do that and to add stability within the team.

“Kosta Barbarouses is the first of those and he is a great signing for the club.”


Players re-signed this week:

Lewis Italiano, one further season through to May 31 2017.

Dylan Fox, three seasons through to May 31 2019.

Alex Rodriguez, one further season through to May 31 2017.

Tom Doyle, one further season through to May 31 2017.

Matthew Ridenton, two further seasons through to May 31 2018.

Blake Powell, one further season through to May 31 2017.


Next game:

5pm, Sunday March 20

v Perth Glory

Westpac Stadium

Tickets here: http://ticketek.co.nz/Phoenix