Five Phoenix Players named in NZ U20 Squad


Five Wellington Phoenix players have been named in the NZ U20 Squad for the FIFA U20 World Cup later this month.

New Zealand Football and the Wellington Phoenix congratulates the following players on their selection for the NZ U20 squad to participate in the FIFA U20 World Cup.

Men’s U-20 coach Darren Bazeley announced his 21-man squad on Friday for the FIFA U-20 World Cup on New Zealand soil beginning later this month.

Selected squad

  •  Noah BILLINGSLEY Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Sam BROTHERTON Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Andrew BLAKE Wellington Phoenix, NZ
  • Cory BROWN Xavier University, USA
  • Andre DE JONG Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Moses DYER Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Jesse EDGE Vicenza Calcio , Italy
  • Te Atawhai HUDSON-WIHONGI Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Damian HIRST Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Stuart HOLTHUSEN Akron University, USA
  • Clayton LEWIS Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Brock MESSENGER Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Adam MITCHELL Wanderers SC, NZ
  • Monty PATTERSON Ipswich Town AFC, UK
  • Matthew RIDENTON Wellington Phoenix, NZ
  • Alex RUFER Wellington Phoenix, NZ
  • Oliver SAIL Wellington Phoenix, NZ
  • Joel STEVENS Wellington Phoenix, NZ
  • Bill TUILOMA Olympique de Marseilles, France
  • Nik TZANEV Brentford FC, UK
  • Deklan WYNNE Wanderers SC, NZ


Head Coach – Darren BAZELEY
Asst Coach – Neil EMBLEN
GK Coach – Paul GOTHARD
Physio – Allan PEARCE
Sports Scientist – Andrew FOSKETT
Doctor – Brendan O’NEILL
Manager – Rod GROVE


FIFA U20 World Cup Group A match schedule

Men’s U-20s v Ukraine
North Harbour Stadium
Saturday 30 May, 1pm

Men’s U-20s v USA
North Harbour Stadium
Tuesday 2 June, 7pm

Men’s U-20s v Myanmar
Wellington Regional Stadium
Friday 5 June, 7pm


For more information, please visit http://www.nzfootball.co.nz/bazeley-names-u-20s-squad/