Five Nix named to PFA team of the season

The Wellington Phoenix have a strong presence in the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) team of the season.

Goalkeeper Alex Paulsen, defenders Scott Wootton and Tim Payne and midfielder Alex Rufer have been voted by their peers into the first XI, while forward Kosta Barbarouses has been named amongst the substitutes.

Paulsen received the most votes of any player and has been named captain of the team of the season.

“It’s very humbling to receive the most votes from my peers and be named the captain of the PFA team of the season,” Paulsen said.

“There’s obviously a lot of incredible talent within the league so this is a great honour not only for myself but for my goalkeeping union here at the Phoenix.

“I wouldn’t be in this position without the support from Jack Duncan and Ruben Parker, who’ve made me the best I can be.”

The players have also chosen Giancarlo Italiano as the coach of the PFA team of the season.

The Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) team of the season is: Alex Paulsen (gk) (c) (Wellington Phoenix), Jacob Farrell (Central Coast Mariners), Brian Kaltak (Central Coast Mariners), Scott Wootton (Wellington Phoenix), Tim Payne (Wellington Phoenix), Alex Rufer (Wellington Phoenix), Josh Nisbet (Central Coast Mariners), Tolgay Arslan (Melbourne City), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne Victory), Adam Taggart (Perth Glory), Joe Lolley (Sydney FC). Substitutes: Danny Vukovic (gk) (Central Coast Mariners), Damien Da Silva (Melbourne Victory), Jake Girwood-Reich (Sydney FC), Marcelo (Western Sydney Wanderers), Anthony Caceres (Sydney FC), Kosta Barbarouses (Wellington Phoenix), Apostolos Stamatelopoulos (Newcastle Jets). Coach: Giancarlo Italiano (Wellington Phoenix).