DRAW ANNOUNCEMENT | Phoenix Get Home Start to A-League


Wellington Phoenix fans will get to see plenty of their team in the opening rounds of the 2014-15 Hyundai A-League.

In the draw announced today the Phoenix will play at Wellington-s Westpac Stadium three times in the first five rounds.

The campaign will open at Westpac on Sunday October 12 against Perth Glory and the Phoenix will be back at the same venue in rounds three (Newcastle Jets October 26) and five (West Sydney Wanderers November 7).

Phoenix coach Ernie Merrick was hoping for a solid block of home fixtures early in the piece and his wishes have been granted.

Melbourne City, formerly Heart but now owned by billionaire English Premier League club Manchester City, will be at Westpac in round eight on November 30 with their new high-profile signings Spanish international David Villa and Damien Duff on show.

Phoenix General Manager David Dome said he was satisfied overall with the draw as those making it had faced significant challenges.

“The draw has been complicated by Australia hosting the Asian Cup which shuts down the A-League over January and then New Zealand and Australia host the Cricket World Cup through February and March” Dome said.

“That means no games through most of January which affects all A-League Clubs and Westpac Stadium out of the equation in February and March so it-s been a challenging process!

“We-re working on venues now for February and March and hope to be able to release these soon”.

“The club has worked with the FFA to get the best possible solution we can despite significant challenges.”

At a glance
Phoenix home fixtures:
• Round 1: Perth Glory, Westpac Stadium, Sunday October 12, 5pm.
• Round 3: Newcastle Jets, Westpac Stadium, Sunday October 26, 5pm.
• Round 5: Western Sydney Wanderers, Westpac Stadium, Friday November 7, 7.30pm.
• Round 8: Melbourne City, Westpac Stadium, Sunday November 30, 5pm.
• Round 9: Sydney FC, Westpac Stadium, Thursday January 8, 7.30pm.
• Round 11: Central Coast Mariners, Westpac Stadium, Saturday December 13, 5pm.
• Round 13: Western Sydney Wanderers, Westpac Stadium, Sunday December 28, 7pm.
• Round 15: Brisbane Roar, Westpac Stadium Sunday January 4, 5pm.
• Round 18: Melbourne City, venue to be confirmed, Saturday February 14.
• Round 19: Newcastle Jets, venue to be confirmed, Sunday February 22.
• Round 21: Adelaide United, venue to be confirmed, Saturday March 7.
• Round 24: Sydney FC, Westpac Stadium, Sunday March 29, 5pm.
• Round 25: Melbourne Victory, Westpac Stadium, Sunday April 5, 7pm.
• Round 27: Central Coast Mariners, Westpac Stadium, Friday April 17, 7.30pm.

Wellington Phoenix home game analysis:
Wednesday 7.30pm x 1
Thursday 7.30pm x 1
Friday 7.30pm x 2
Saturday 5.00pm x 3
Sunday 5.00pm x 5
Sunday 7.00pm x 2