Winners: Wellington Phoenix End Of Season Awards


Wellington Phoenix held their annual end of season awards last night at Te Papa, Wellington. A side that had finished in the top six for the first time in four seasons had much to celebrate as players, coaches, board members, corporate partners, staff and members of our Yellow Fever fan group attended the evening. 

Roy Krishna capped off a brilliant Hyundai A-League 2018/19 season as he picked up three awards. The 18-goal striker won the Players’ Player Of The YearHuawei Player Of The Year and the Golden Boot Award

Roy Krishna Awards 2019

Alex Rufer deservedly took the inaugural Bandage Award, for his his tireless efforts and un-dying determination this season. The midfielder added to this later in the evening with the coveted Lloyd Morrison Award presented by Wellington Phoenix Chairman, Rob Morrison.



David Williams took out the Cloud Creator Goal of The Year with his sublime effort against Newcastle Jets in Round 23 of the Hyundai A-League.

Willow Goal of the Year Award

Liberato Cacace, currently on International duty with the New Zealand U-20s, won the Revera Members U-23 Player of the Year after a superb season where he played more minutes and made more touches than anyone in the team.


Cacace Award Tile


It was a brilliant season off the pitch as well as Volunteers, Staff and Fans were recognised in the Awards ceremony. 

Steve Lyne won the Fan of the Year for his commitment to the club since day one of it’s inception and his fantastic support over the years.

Esther and Gus Hutton picked up the Volunteer of the Year Award for their continued support behind the scenes at community events and game days.

Tom Bray, Marketing and Communications Executive, landed the Staff Member of the Year Award for his efforts on the social media front, working as part of a fantastic team to drive forward the club’s online presence.


Please find below all the winners of the Wellington Phoenix End Of Season Awards 2019.


Lloyd Morrison Award – Selected by Wellington Phoenix Chairman, Rob Morrison

Winner: Alex Rufer

Hyundai A-League Player of the Year – Presented by Huawei

Winner is selected based on points allocated by a club board member, coaching staff and a member of the New Zealand Media.

Winner: Roy Krishna

Hyundai A-League Golden Boot – Presented by adidas

Roy Krishna – 18 Hyundai A-League Goals

Hyundai A-League Goal of the Year – Presented by Cloud Creator

Winner: David Williams vs  Newcastle Jets (Round 23)

Hyundai A-League Members U-23 Player of the Year – Presented by Revera

Winner is voted for by Wellington Phoenix Members.

Winner: Liberato Cacace

Hyundai A-League Players’ Player of the Year – Presented by Andrew Durante

Winner is selected by the Wellington Phoenix playing group.

Winner: Roy Krishna

Bandage Award – Presented by Ben Sigmund

Selected by ex-Phoenix player, Ben Sigmund and awarded to the player who has shown the most fight, resilience and determination throughout the season.

Winner: Alex Rufer

Fan of the Year – Presented by Garage Project

Winner: Steve Lyne

Staff Member of the Year – Presented by Mark Chote

Winner: Tom Bray

Volunteer of the Year – Presented by David Dome

Winners: Gus and Esther Hutton