Wellington Phoenix Squad: Round 1 v Adelaide United


Darije Kalezić has named his first Hyundai A-League squad with Wellington Phoenix set to host Adelaide United this Sunday 8 October, 5pm.

International call ups have stripped the home side of three key players – captain Andrew Durante, Michael McGlinchey and Tom Doyle, with a cumulative 500 A-League games experience between them – but nevertheless there’s still plenty of league and overseas experience for Kalezić to chose from.

With six new signings over the off-season home fans could be treated to seeing a host of debutants for the Phoenix – plenty have etched their names into Nix folklore with a goal on debut, will Dario Vidošic or Andrija Kaludjerovic join legends like Daniel, Shane Smeltz or Stein Huysegems?

A clean bill of health means no injuries, but sadly for home fans former Nix legend Vince Lia now playing with Adelaide will be suspended and unable to receive the warm welcome he richly deserves.

Sunday will also mark the inaugural rollout of the Crossbar Challenge – where one lucky supporter could grab a remarkable $100,000! 

Simply buy your Crossbar Challenge T-shirt from Football Central to go in the draw.

One person. One shot. 100K!

Head to our website for full competition details.

Membership cards and packs will also be available for collection from midday on Sunday at marquees on the outer concourse – simply bring your proof of purchase email, which will help you secure members-only parking discounts as well.

With new coaches, new players, a new crest and a new strip the opening match of the club’s second decade is set to be a cracker!

Encourage your friends and family to make it along – heed the rising call of the Phoenix and let’s make Westpac Stadium a fortress again.


Match details:

Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United, Sunday 8 October, Westpac Stadium.

Tickets – here. Memberships – here.


Wellington Phoenix squad: 

1. Lewis Italiano (GK), 2. Daniel Mullen, 3. Scott Galloway, 4. Goran Paracki, 6. Dylan Fox, 7. Gui Finkler, 8. Dario Vidosic, 9. Andrija Kaludjerovic, 11. Hamish Watson, 12. Adam Parkhouse, 13. Marco Rossi, 14. Alex Rufer, 17. Ali Abbas, 18. Sarpreet Singh, 21. Roy Krishna, 23. Matthew Ridenton, 24. Logan Rogerson, 30. Keegan Smith (GK)

(Two to be omitted)

Unavailable: 10. Michael McGlinchey, 19. Tom Doyle, 22. Andrew Durante (international duty)

Adelaide United squad:

1.Daniel Margush (GK), 2.Michael Marrone, 5.Taylor Regan, 7.Ryan Kitto, 8.Isaías (c), 9.Baba Diawara, 10.Karim Matmour, 11.Johan Absalonsen, 12.Mark Ochieng, 14.George Blackwood, 16.Nathan Konstandopoulos, 17.Nikola Mileusnic, 19.Ben Garuccio, 20.Paul Izzo (GK), 22.Ersan Gülüm, 23.Jordan Elsey, 24.Jordan O’Doherty, 37.Daniel Adlung

(Two to be omitted)

Unavailable: 6. Vince Lia (suspended), 21. Tarek Elrich (knee – long term)


[Sunday’s game will also see a collection of much-needed foodstuffs for Wellington City Mission – proudly supported by Wellington Phoenix, Yellow Fever & LFC Wellington – find out what Starting XI goods are most needed, here]