Wellington Phoenix Players Voted Into PFA Team Of The Year


Professional Footballers Australia (the PFA) has announced the 2018/19 PFA A-League Team of the Season at Optus Stadium.

The team was unveiled on Wednesday afternoon at the venue for this season’s showpiece event, with two players from Wellington Phoenix making the starting XI.

Johnny Warren Medal and Golden Boot winner, Roy Krishna was included alongside Goalkeeper of the Year, Filip Kurto as the two standout players from the New Zealand club.

The previous Wellington Phoenix player to receive a place in the PFA Team of the Year was Roly Bonevacia in the 2015-16 Hyundai A-League season. The club last produced two players in the PFA Team of The Year back in 2014-15 when Andrew Durante and Nathan Burns were involved in the starting XI after reaching the Elimination Final under Ernie Merrick.

Hyundai A-League Golden Boot winner, Krishna enjoyed a sensational season, scoring 19 goals in 27 appearances on the way to picking up the award before winning the Johnny Warren Medal.

Krishna’s previous highest scoring season was in the 2016-17 Hyundai A-League campaign, where he scored 12 goals.

Proudly supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super, the 2018/19 PFA A-League Team of the Season is voted on by the players of the A-League clubs at the conclusion of the regular season.


2018/19 A-League Team of the Season:



Filip Kurto



Jason Davidson

Shane Lowry

Bart Schenkeveld

Rhyan Grant



Neil Kilkenny

Brandon O’Neill

Diego Castro



Chris Ikonomidis

Ola Toivonen

Roy Krishna



Liam Reddy

Michael Jakobsen


Milos Ninkovic

Adam Le Fondre



Tony Popovic