Wellington Phoenix Ins and Outs – Round 24


Wellington Phoenix travel to South Australia this week as Head Coach, Mark Rudan’s side come up against a tough test in the form of Adelaide United. The previous meeting between the two sides, ended in a 0-0 draw but Rudan’s side have been on red-hot form recently, scoring 15 goals in three games.

An added bonus will be the return of the Hyundai A-League top goalscorer, Roy Krishna, who will be looking to regain his place back in the Starting XI after serving his suspension.

Despite Krishna’s absence last weekend, the team continued their free-scoring form through David Williams and Sarpreet Singh. The former rose to the challenge in spectacular fashion, completing his hat trick with a world-class finish from outside the box.

Centre-back, Steven Taylor, is also another player looking to come back into the fold. Recent injuries have forced the former Premier League start out of the squad but this could be the weekend the Geordie makes his highly anticipated return to partner with Captain, Andrew Durante.

Be sure to watch the game on Sky Sport and be in to win a Match Day prize as part of our “Watch It, Record It, Love it” promotion. Simply look out for the unique code and you’ll be in to win.  

See the Terms and Conditions here



Match Details:

Sunday 7th April 2019
Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix 
Coopers Stadium, Adelaide
Kick-Off: 7:00PM (NZT) (4:30PM (Local))

Referee: Jonathan Barreiro
Assistant Referee 1: Paul Cetrangolo
Assistant Referee 2: Daniel Ilievski
Fourth Official: Lachlan Keevers
VAR: Craig Zetter

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on Sky Sport 3 from 7:00pm NZT or FOX SPORTS 505 from 4:30pm (AEST)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash tag #ADLvWEL

Adelaide United squad: 1.Daniel MARGUŠ (gk), 2.Michael MARRONE, 3.Scott GALLOWAY, 6.Vince LIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Isaías SÁNCHEZ (c), 11.Craig GOODWIN, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 19.Jordy THOMASSEN, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 31.Mirko BOLAND, 32.Carlo ARMIENTO, 33.Apostolos STAMATELOPOULOS **two to be omitted**

Ins: 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ (promoted), 24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE (promoted), 32.Carlo ARMIENTO (promoted)
Outs: 4.Ryan STRAIN (hamstring)
Unavailable: 9.Baba DIAWARA (knee), 10.Ken ILSØ (suspended), 23.Jordan ELSEY (foot)

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1.Filip KURTO (gk), 4.Mandi SOSA, 5.Ryan LOWRY, 7.Cillian SHERIDAN, 11.David WILLIAMS, 12.Antony GOLEC, 13.Liberato CACACE, 14.Alex RUFER, 15.Michal KOPZCYNSKI, 17.Callan ELLIIOT, 18.Sarpreet SINGH, 20.Oliver SAIL (gk), 21. Roy KRISHNA, 22.Andrew DURANTE (c), 23.Max BURGESS, 27.Steven TAYLOR, 31. Ben WAINE, 32. Gianni STENSNESS **two to be omitted**

Ins: 21.Roy KRISHNA (returns from suspension), 32.Gianni STENSNESS (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 3. Justin GULLEY (quad injury – 2 weeks), 16. Louis FENTON (foot injury – season), 19. Tom DOYLE (quad injury – 2 weeks)