Wellington Phoenix Confirm Round 20 Fixture 


Wellington Phoenix Confirm Round 20 Fixture Media Release


Wellington Phoenix today confirmed that their Round 20 home fixture against Sydney FC will be played at Campbelltown Stadium in New South Wales on Saturday 23 February 2019.

Wellington’s home ground of Westpac Stadium is unavailable due to the pre-planned Te Matatini Kapa Haka Festival.

General Manager David Dome said it was a difficult task to find a stadium in New Zealand that could host the club and where the business model was workable.

‘’We investigated as many New Zealand stadia as we could. 

‘’The two determinants that needed to be met were a business model that made sense and our ability to draw a crowd that would help with our average attendance metric.  

‘’Given the time of year, scheduling requirements, other events, and the required financial model, unfortunately, it was impossible to find an option in New Zealand.   

‘’Campbelltown came on the table and expressed a real desire to host us.’’

In order to help New Zealand based fans travel to the game, the club through its travel partner BCD Travel has pulled together some cost-effective travel packages.

Starting from just $723.00, the packages include flights, taxes, and accommodation. There are also flight only packages starting from $613.

To assist with early-bird purchases, the Wellington Phoenix will subsidise $100 per person for the first 20 people who book through BCD Travel on a travel package. First come first served basis and the offer expires at 5 pm on 21 December.


At A Glance


Hyundai A-League Season 2018/19

Round 20 Wellington Phoenix v Sydney FC

Saturday 23 February, 2019, kick off 5.35pm (local), 7.35pm (NZT)

Campbelltown Stadium, New South Wales. 


Travel packages available from BCD travel: Click here (Terms and conditions apply).

Tickets available through Ticketmaster Australia Click here.

Tickets on sale Thursday 20 December, 12 pm NZT and 10 am local time for Wellington Phoenix Members.

Friday 21 December, 11 am NZT and 9 am local time for the General Public.