Roy Krishna takes top award at end of season celebration


Roy Krishna scooped the Huawei Player of the Year trophy at the club’s annual awards evening on Tuesday night. After a strong showing mid-season, the forward contributed four goals, racked up his 95th appearance and climbed his way up the leaderboard to take home the club’s top honour. 

In a testing season for the club, the emergence of young talent such as St Pat’s Town student Liberato Cacace and New Zealand International, Sarpreet Singh will give the fans hope looking to the future. It was Matthew Ridenton, in his fifth season with the club, collecting the Member’s Revera u23 Player of the Year award after a season to remember, starting 24 matches and gaining selection in the All Whites for their recent match against Canada.

Into her tenth season with the club, long standing Match Day Volunteer, Helen Mallon, took home the Volunteer of the Year award for her efforts this season.

Unsurprisingly, Serbian forward Andrija Kaludjerovic took home the adidas Golden Boot with nine goals to his name, and Krishna picked up the Cloud Creator Goal of the Year for his superb strike against Brisbane Roar in round 4, narrowly beating midfielder Sarpreet Singh’s strike against Perth.

Club Captain Andrew Durante was acknowledged for breaking the all-time Hyundai A-League appearance record back in February against Sydney FC, a terrific achievement for the ten year player and former Joe Marston Medal winner.

Yellow Fever stalwart and all round good guy, Matt Weldon-Smith took home the Garage Project Fan of the Year award for his outstanding service to the club in introducing new fans to the Phoenix family, and for his charity work with the Fever Dreams initiative.

After a season where he logged his most minutes – young defender Dylan Fox scooped the highly coverted Player’s Player of the Year award, joining Club legends Manny Muscat, Paul Ifill, Ben Sigmund and Glen Moss as the 11th recipient of this award. The 24-year-old central defender had to bide his time early on, but cemented his spot – starting nine straight games at the back end of the season.

After taking over as head coach in Round 22, Former Phoenix Striker Chris Greenacre was crowned the winner of the Lloyd Morrison Spirit of the Wellington Phoenix award for his selfless contribution to the club while managing the youth department and first team – ensuring the team picked themselves up and strung some good performances together after a tumultuous first 21 rounds.

The club also remembered former Media and Equipment Manager Russell Gray who passed away recently – Russell was the inaugural recipient of the Lloyd Morrison Spirit of the Wellington Phoenix Award and will be missed by everyone associated with the club and Hyundai A-League

  • Members Revera u23 Player of the Year – Matthew Ridenton
  • adidas Golden Boot – Andrija Kaludjerovic
  • Volunteer of the Year – Helen Mallon
  • Garage Project Fan of the Year – Matt Weldon-Smith
  • Cloud Creator Goal of the Year – Roy Krishna, Rd 4 vs Brisbane Roar
  • Player’s Player of the Year – Dylan Fox
  • Huawei Player of the Year – Roy Krishna
  • Lloyd Morrison Spirit of the Wellington Phoenix – Chris Greenacre