Phoenix to Face West Ham at Hong Kong Sevens


For the fourth year running some of Wellington Phoenix’s most talented youngsters will clash with some of the biggest clubs in the world at the 2018 HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens on the weekend of 19-20 May.

Joining the Phoenix in group A are Japan’s J1 Kashima Antlers, Hong Kong’s Yau Yee League Select and England’s Premier League West Ham United.

The Wellington Phoenix team includes current first team players, Alex Rufer, Keegan Smith, Libby Cacace, Logan Rogerson and Sarpreet Singh, as well as Calvin Harris, Willem Ebbinge, Sam Philip, Ben Waine and Liam Moore from the Wellington Phoenix Academy. 

It will be a welcome return home for Phoenix Academy forward, Calvin Harris, who left Hong Kong for Wellington aged just 14 to join the Phoenix Academy.

The youngster is back for another crack after being part of the side who just missed the finals last time out. In his final year at Scots College, he’ll be looking to play well in front of his home crowd.

Harris said “It’s always a good experience playing in the Hong Kong Citi Soccer Sevens. It’s my third year having the opportunity to go and play and I’m really looking forward to it.”

Harris – who has eight goals to his name in the Central League also said, “I’m really pleased to be heading back to Hong Kong and it’s always great to be able to play in front of my family.”

The tournament itself has been a chance for some of the world’s top players to make a name for themselves – with the likes of Glen Johnson, Jack Grealish, Gabriel Agbonlahor, Gary Cahill and Premier League winner Marc Albrighton, just some of the stars who featured in their younger days.


What: HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens

Starting in 1999, the tournament is held at the Hong Kong Football Club and hosts teams from across Europe, Asia and the Pacific. Championship club, Aston Villa hold the record for the most titles, with six to their name. In the 18-year history of the tournament English sides have won the tournament 12 of those years.

When: 18, 19, 20 May 2018

Where: Hong Kong Football Club


Wellington Phoenix Squad: 30. Keegan SMITH, 2. Sam PHILIP, 3. Ben WAINE, 4. Willem EBBINGE, 5. Liam MOORE, 6. Liberato CACACE, 7. Calvin HARRIS, 8. Sarpreet SINGH, 9. Logan ROGERSON, 10. Alex RUFER