Hyundai A-League/Westfield W-League award winners


Nathan Burns from the Wellington Phoenix has claimed the Johnny Warren Medal, the Hyundai A-League’s Players’ Player Award at the gala Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League 2014/15 Awards night which was held at the Carriageworks in Sydney tonight.

Emily van Egmond took out the Westfield W-League’s highest honour, the Julie Dolan Medal, with George Blackwood ( Sydney FC ) and Liam Youlley ( Western Sydney Wanderers FC ) tying for the title of Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year.

Emily van Egmond

Burns, won the Johnny Warren Medal receiving 577 votes from his playing peers, ahead of Marcelo Carrusca (366 votes), Fahid Ben Khalfallah (307 votes), Kosta Barbarouses (277 votes) and Sergio Cirio (245 points).

Nathan Burns was named the Hyundai A-League's best in 2014/15.

James Jeggo was named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award ahead of Brandon Borello (Brisbane Roar FC), Jamie Maclaren (Perth Glory), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) and Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers. Jeggo will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Jimmy Jeggo

Melbourne Victory’s Premiership winning Head Coach Kevin Muscat received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and Peter McGuinness from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

Kevin Muscat celebrates Melbourne Victory's win over City at full-time.

Sydney FC’s Austrian Marquee player, Marc Janko, took home the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season with 16 goals and Perth Glory’s Kathryn Gill was the Westfield W-League 2014/15 Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 12 goals throughout the season.

Sydney FC marquee Marc Janko won the Golden Boot award in 2014/15.

Perth Glory’s Samantha Kerr picked up the Westfield W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award and Sydney FC’s Amy Harrison was named the Westfield W-League’s Young Player of the Year.

Samantha Kerr in action for Perth Glory.

Eugene Galekovic collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for a record fourth time and Mackenzie Arnold from Perth Glory received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Adelaide United captain Eugene Galekovic.

Adelaide United defender Tarek Elrich scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 27 solo effort against Melbourne City FC. Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her strike against Perth Glory in Round 12.

VIDEO: See Elrich’s stunner right here!

Tarek Elrich celebrates after scoring a stunner against Melbourne City FC.

Wellington Phoenix picked up the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Adelaide United won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with Brisbane Roar FC winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

Wellington Phoenix have gone top of the table after their win in Round 21.

Jarred Gillet was named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award for the second time in his career whilst Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collected the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year for the fifth time.